Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Fifth-Wheels: Ditching Dometic Thermostat?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Ditching Dometic Thermostat?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Super_Dave

Harrisville, UT

Senior Member

Joined: 01/19/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 02:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?


Truck: 2006 Dodge 3500 Dually
Rig: 2018 Big Country 3155 RLK
Boat: 21' North River Seahawk


cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 04:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just changed mine yesterday. Honeywell rth2300/rth221. I got the programmable because it has back light. Don't need to program. you only use 4 wires. Youtube is your friend. $24.00 at HD.Y


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/20 05:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?
Not if it is digital.

Post the model number or a picture.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Rwake901

Central, Illinois

Senior Member

Joined: 11/08/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I did ours a month or so ago. You need one that runs on batteries though. Thermostats in an RV are 12 volts and house thermostats are 24 volts. If it’s battery operated it will work. I used a Lux digital one.

Here’s how to wire it.

Red = RH+RC - Power
Yellow=Y - AC compressor
White=W - Heat
Green=G - Fan High
Blue=No connection
Gray=No connection - Fan Low

Super_Dave

Harrisville, UT

Senior Member

Joined: 01/19/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 08:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It is digital and I don’t see any model numbers on it anywhere. If it gets bumped at all the cooling and furnace numbers go into the 20’s and won’t go any higher than 32. 50 tries of resnapping the cover on and I might get lucky to get it to recover. Anyone else had this experience?

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/20 08:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This one?

[image]

sayoung

Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 08:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Super_Dave wrote:

Can I swap out my POS Dometic Thermostat with a simple household thermostat?

If it's the newer " communicating thermostat " the simple answer is no.
It could be done With a few added parts & extensive rewirein on the unit

Super_Dave

Harrisville, UT

Senior Member

Joined: 01/19/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/20 09:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

[image]

This is what it looks like. The responses seem pretty contradicting.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/20 10:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That is same as I posted and cannot be converted by just swapping thermostats.
See the three wires on the top left? That is 12+, 12- and a digital signal wire.

If you want to use a home thermostat you will need to replace the control box up in the A/C lower unit to be the old analog style.

I converted mine to the single zone digital and I like it. I did not keep my old control box [emoticon]

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/20 10:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There is a reset procedure in the manual:

System Initialization
A system initialization will need to be performed by installer after system installation.
1. Make sure CT thermostat is Off. See “D. Quick Reference” on page (3).
2. Press the button, and simultaneously press and hold the / Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show “- -”.
This completes system initialization.
Furnace On / Off temperature differential should be set at this time. See “C. “Furnace” - Furnace Mode” on page (7) for more information.

Manual

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Ditching Dometic Thermostat?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.