cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Raton Pass, New Mexico

tx_folks
Explorer
Explorer
Looking for a nice RV Park or COE park in Raton Pass for a couple nights.
5th Wheel-2 seniors. Just staying One-two nights. Any suggestions of a favorite place to stay. Thank you!
Mike, Judy
and our maltipoo, Muffy ๐Ÿ™‚
13 REPLIES 13

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
If I were coming to Colorado from north Texas, I would get off I-40 onto US 287 in Amarillo. It's a good road, no steep grades and no problems for RVs of any size. Most of the Texas segment is even four-lane. I know it well because I have been driving it for 57 years. Take US 287 to Lamar and then US 50 to the Lake Hasty campground at John Martin Lake State Park. You will have electricity, easily accessible water hydrants, a easy-in, two-lane, paved RV dump, flush toilets and showers, laundry, shade from huge trees, and pull-thru and back-in campsites, including some backing up to the small lake. Then just continue on to Pueblo on US 50 and Colorado Springs on I-25. You might even want to stop at Bent's Fort National Historic Site when you go through La Junta.
"Retirement is the best job I ever had!"
2015 RAM 2500 4x4 crewcab 6.7L CTD; 2016 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 5th wheel

hotpepperkid
Explorer
Explorer
On Hwy 64 just South of town before you get to the airport is the NRA Whittington center and they have two nice camp grounds
2019 Ford F-350 long bed SRW 4X4 6.4 PSD Grand Designs Reflection 295RL 5th wheel

LowRyter
Explorer
Explorer
Trinidad St Park
John L
WW SL 2805 5th Wheel
2004.5 Chevy 2500HD Allison Duramax X Cab
Ducati 939 SS, Moto Guzzi V11 Sport, Moto Guzzi EV California and Suzuki 1200 Bandit

Edd505
Explorer
Explorer
most CG's will allow over night, if you plan so stay longer 14 day quarantine. The CG's are limiting numbers, not sure what the current count is, 50%
2015 F350 FX4 SRW 6.7 Crew, longbed - 2017 Durango Gold 353RKT
2006 F350 SRW 6.0 crew longbed sold