cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Deep metal "groaning sound" from hitch. Is this normal?

DaveRVman
Explorer
Explorer
So I have a type of WD hitch I've never used before... Without chains.
On sharper turns I hear a deep groaning type of sound. I think it's the springbar rubbing the support bracket. The only thing I can compare the sound to is what you'd hear in navy type movie in boats where it sounds like the hull is "bending". LOL. Just a deeper groan.

Is this normal?

This is what my WD hitch looks like.
Link

Picture

20 REPLIES 20

kellem
Explorer
Explorer
Never met a quiet one.

Been using a Reese DC for many years and it displays more of a popping sounds.....little dry lube on the chains eliminated the pop.

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
Kampfirekid wrote:
Iโ€™ve had many Equalizer brand hitches over the past 25 years. Never a noise issue. Picked up a new trailer two weeks ago. On the way home I crossed the scales to find they set the hitch up perfectly. However, we pulled it home about 60 miles and it was noisier than expected. I figured it was new. Bars were losing paint on wear surfaces... good. Itโ€™ll quiet up. Then went another 60 for our inaugural run the next weekend. The hitch was groaning so loud. I had to take the hitch apart. I found they never lubed the hitch at all. I had no reason to think... I thought... to lube the hitch right away. Itโ€™s new! Theyโ€™ll do it! Riiiiiiiggggghhhhht. In 120 miles, the head was destroyed. Gouges of metal pulled from the wearing surfaces. Metal pulling up like โ€œ feathersโ€ from the friction surfaces. If I could figure out how to attach a picture, I would. Itโ€™s nasty.

That's why I would never buy a steel on steel friction device or trust a dealer to do much of anything.

Kampfirekid
Explorer
Explorer