cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need advice on roofing - Fleetwood

mossyback
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RV’s. 3 years ago my daughter bought a Fleetwood 5th wheel to live in. It had a slight leak so I built a pole barn over it. In March of 2020 the land she was on sold and she lost her job. So I moved her house, put a tarp over it, and told her I’d repair the roof in July. In June I started researching RV products and after hours of watching videos on Youtube and reading manufactures sites I purchased Dicor 501LSW and five gallons of Proguard F99911 Liquid Roof only to have Amazon inform me that they were out of the F99911. This might be for the best as I subsequently read that Fleetwood is not a true EPDM and that plan would have failed without an unnamed primer. So I have ordered four gallons of RV Roof Magic as it says it works on both Alpha System and EPDM Roofs. Question 1: Will this combination work out well for us?

NEXT, When I cleaned off the roof with Dawn dishwashing detergent I found problems.
1. There is a patch - a 4” by 12” bandaid - that didn’t quite work. I found a Youtube vid using a patch kit from Camping World that looks like this patch - it looks questionable, is it a good product and just poorly applied? Should I get a larger patch and put a new bandaid over the old one?
2. Across the ‘stern’ there are tiny cracks along the ‘carpet strip’ that ties the corrugated aluminum to the EPDM. On fiberglass boat I’d lay a mat down, resin over it, and then put the gel coat over the entire thing. It would be ugly but it would not leak. Putting a liberal coating of the Lap Sealant over this is 90% likely to be good enough, my guess without having ever worked with this product or application. Is there a standard way to deal with this fatiguing rubber sheeting edge? Would getting a roll of the Camping world roof patch and putting it across the entire seam be a disaster or a good fix?