Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Autoformer issue

rfaulkner99
Explorer
Explorer
Can someone with a Hughes Autoformer
tell me if it is normal to measure around 10 ohms of resistance between the hot and neutral prongs of the plug? I was expecting infinite resistance, so hoping to see if this is normal or not.

Initially I thought it was the plug, because there was some corrosion and melting on on the hot terminal, but I cut off the plug and the bare wire measures the same.

Thanks
23 REPLIES 23

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
You'll get a better response asking a battery company about their plates.

time2roll
Explorer II
Explorer II
I don't know any company that is going to supply a schematic except to an authorized repair facility.

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Cummins12V98 wrote:
If you want a FACTUAL answer simply contact AutoFormer!

THeir response was already up -thread

For the person who ask. I'm not good at drawing with the computer and do not have the kind of tablet that would let me draw it.

So I will describe

I needed to, as I recall buck about 10 volts
So it was a 10 volt transformer.. Primary connected to incoming power. I "Broke" one lead of the device's power transformer (A tube tester by the way) and put the secondary (10 volt) winding of the buck transformer in such a way that it was out of phase so it "Bucked" the incoming power.. Worked great Was able to dial the needel to the calibration mark every time.

Simple really.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
Hughs belongs on Saturday morning TV along with Ron Popiel, adjustable reading glasses and miracle wrinkle cream AFAIK.