Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tow Vehicles: Advance on Travel Trailer
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Advance on Travel Trailer

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
HNTucker

Texas

View Profile

Posted: 07/23/20 08:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi, I’m new to the RV world. I have a grand Jeep Cherokee 2011 with the V6 engine with tow package. I have settled on two very different travel trailers. One is 1100 pounds dry weight 13 feet in length and the other is 1800 dry weight and will likely be 2800 pounds max when fully loaded 17 feet in length. I have zero interest or ability to upgrade my vehicle at this point. It will be myself and the dog crew traveling.

Question 1: Will the larger trailer put too much stress on my vehicle over time at that weight

Question 2: I heard that smaller trailers are actually harder to back up , so would the larger trailer actually be easier to navigate

And Lastly Question 3: Would boondocking be reasonable with either length?

Any advice is welcomed

Thanks in advance

LanceRKeys

Amarillo, TX

View Profile

Posted: 07/23/20 08:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There is not enough length difference in those two to matter at all when backing.

I can’t comment on if your suv will be ok towing it or not, but soon enough you will get some advice on that.

Boomerweps

Hills of PA

View Profile

Posted: 07/23/20 08:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Either trailer would be fine with your vehicle, but...