cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Who is a Full Timer with a Camper?

wildman4x4
Explorer
Explorer
It's been some interesting conversations on other RV forums with people who DO NOT think people in truck campers are also full timers in the RV world.
Now I know 2-3 people who full time in a truck camper but they are all single.
I'm just curious who out here fit into this group as I have plans to hopefully become a semi-full timer to start in about 2-3 years.
I am currently looking at campers right now and my one MAIN requirement is that it needs to be a side entry camper.
Next it needs to have extra room in the bathroom. Or I should say for the commode. I do not care if it is a dry or wet bathroom (I don't think) since I've never had a wet bath that I've used.

A little back history. I am a disabled veteran and a lower right leg amputee. I lost my leg due to injuries I received in Iraq in 2004. So my getting around can be a challenge somedays but I don't let that stop me. But because of this I need a camper that has a taller floor so that the height into the cabover bunk area isn't a high as it was in older campers.
The side entry is becasue I will be towing about 90% of the time while the camper is on my truck. My other BIG requirement is that I have room to put in a recliner/couch setup. Becasue of this I am looking at something like the Chalet TS116 or other used campers with a minimum of 2 slides. I need to have a true recliner so that I can elevate my leg some of the time. I'm sure as I gather experiance I will find other features that are important to me but these are the things I know of now.

I've owned 2 TC's be for this. One was a S&S short bed unit and the other was a late 1990's Adventurer single slide dry bath unit. Ex talked me into getting a motorhome instead and IMHO it was my worst mistake of my RV life. I'll never own another MH in my foreseeable future. But I learned to never say never.
58 REPLIES 58

JoeChiOhki