Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Atwood thermal cut-off issue
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Atwood thermal cut-off issue

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
DVGaylin

Greeley, CO

New Member

Joined: 08/18/2020

View Profile



Posted: 08/21/20 05:09pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Problem solved...
I replaced the Spark Electrode. No more blown fuses.
The old Electrode must have been drawing just enough current to blow the fuse with the Thermal Cut-off in but not when the jumper was in. Weird...

BTW dougrainer, you forgot one thing; using a jumper did not cause the fuse to blow. So if there was a short somewhere the jumper would have blown the fuse as well. Thanks for replying...

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Online
Posted: 08/21/20 05:34pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

DVGaylin wrote:

Problem solved...
I replaced the Spark Electrode. No more blown fuses.
The old Electrode must have been drawing just enough current to blow the fuse with the Thermal Cut-off in but not when the jumper was in. Weird...

BTW dougrainer, you forgot one thing; using a jumper did not cause the fuse to blow. So if there was a short somewhere the jumper would have blown the fuse as well. Thanks for replying...


There is more to this. NO WAY a Spark Electrode could cause a direct short to blow a 12 volt 15 amp fuse. Please come back when the short returns. Doug

DVGaylin

Greeley, CO

New Member

Joined: 08/18/2020

View Profile



Posted: 08/21/20 08:25pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wow Doug!
The Electrode is the load to the circuit and can easily cause a fuse to blow. I NEVER said there was a short. You did.
I have worked in electronics for 35 years. I do not confess to being an expert but I have seen some odd issues that could not be completely explained without the proper testing equipment. This was one of those. It was a "Best Guess". Except the fact that it is working. The control module may have an under lying issue but until it goes out completely I will except what I have. You should too and quit being so negative.

2 many 2

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/25/2015

View Profile



Posted: 08/22/20 05:20am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

DVGaylin wrote:

Wow Doug!
The Electrode is the load to the circuit and can easily cause a fuse to blow. I NEVER said there was a short. You did.
I have worked in electronics for 35 years. I do not confess to being an expert but I have seen some odd issues that could not be completely explained without the proper testing equipment. This was one of those. It was a "Best Guess". Except the fact that it is working. The control module may have an under lying issue but until it goes out completely I will except what I have. You should too and quit being so negative.

[emoticon]

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Online
Posted: 08/22/20 07:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

DVGaylin wrote:

Wow Doug!
The Electrode is the load to the circuit and can easily cause a fuse to blow. I NEVER said there was a short. You did.
I have worked in electronics for 35 years. I do not confess to being an expert but I have seen some odd issues that could not be completely explained without the proper testing equipment. This was one of those. It was a "Best Guess". Except the fact that it is working. The control module may have an under lying issue but until it goes out completely I will except what I have. You should too and quit being so negative.


I am not being negative. The plain fact is, you may have 35 years, but I have 41 years. I TEST the Atwood Piezo's all the time(hundreds) with a long screwdriver the metal shaft is grounded and I remove the Electrode wire and get the 1/8 inch gap to the Piezo spade to see if the Piezo will spark. I also will ground the Piezo spade. NOTHING HAPPENS. YOU are the one that has asked for help. If you are so smart(35 years), then why did you come to a forum for help? I get people like you all the time. Engineers bring their RV in and tell me how all their smart engineer relatives and friends have tried to fix the problem with their RV and now they grace me with fixing it. If you are so smart why do you ask for help? The NEW style Atwood boards have a 2 amp mini atc fuse on the board. Atwood states that if you go larger than 2 amp, damage to the board will happen(like grounding the gas solenoid wires. I still maintain your problem is at the Tstat/ECO mounting, probably the springs. DUE to your specific model that the brown wire comes from the switch and NOT the circuit board. I also maintain that the reason the short goes away, is because when you fiddle with the brown and thermal, you are causing the tstat/ECO springs to shift slightly. Have you removed the black felt cover to verify the tstat and ECO are mounted correctly? I hope you come back when your fix is not the problem and you state that. Doug

dedmiston

The West

Moderator

Joined: 01/26/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/22/20 08:32am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Aaaaand we're done.

Thank you for your help, Doug.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Atwood thermal cut-off issue
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.