Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Can I use 20 amp service
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I use 20 amp service

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
jimcatinmi

michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 08/20/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 07:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If we are not going to run the A/C can we use20amp service safely? I o ly have 20 amp athome a dI use an adapter to run the fridge and lights but what if we need to use the furnace would that be safe?


2014 F150 5.0 coyote
Flowmaster Cat back
2006 Laredo 29RK
Pullrite superglide 16k
Monroe Load Assist


Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 07:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No AC and no microwave, you are good to go. Once the batteries are fully charged, you may be able to use the microwave. The furnace is fine on that.


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB


BurbMan

Islip, Long Island

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/25/20 07:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Absolutely, no issues. If you draw more than 20 amps you will trip the breaker that controls the outlet you are plugged into.

Furnace motor is 12v so that's only a draw on the converter, shouldn't be a problem. I would leave the HW heater on gas so you are only powering the fridge, and converter for lights and furnace.


2015 Ram 3500 SRW 4x4 Laramie Crew Cab Long Box, Cummins diesel
2002 Lance 811 Slide-In Camper
SOLD: 2008 Terry 34' TT
SOLD: 2001 K2500LT 8.1L Suburban

Lance 811 Renovation Story!
Project Complete!
Maiden Voyage!


RJsfishin

Winston Or.

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 07:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We lived in our MH for 5 months on a borrowed 20 amp service, WH on propane, and A/C "or" Microwave. Tripped the breaker 2 times when DW forgot to turn off A/C when using the Microwave. Once you get used to it, no problem


Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.


mbopp

Henrietta, NY, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 07:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I ran a dedicated 20A line from the house breaker box to my garage. It'll run my AC with minimal voltage drop.


2017 Grand Design Imagine 2650RK
2019 F250 XLT Supercab
Just DW & me......

jimcatinmi

michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 08/20/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 07:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you, I know I can count on fast honest answers here.

gbopp

The Keystone State

Senior Member

Joined: 08/03/2008

View Profile


Online
Posted: 08/25/20 08:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I run the A/C on a 20 amp circuit. No problems.

ford truck guy

Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 03/22/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 08:14am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I too ran the 13.5 AC on 20 amp when driveway camping at a friends... turned everything else off...


Me-Her-the kids
2020 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020 Redwood 3991RD Garnet


jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 08:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ReallY?
It really depends on the run of the wiring. If you are close to the electric panel, sure, you can run that 15,000btu AC on a dedicated 20amp outlet. If not, at some point it may burn the unit up if you aren't around to shut it off in time. A 13,500btu unit uses about 2700 watts at start up (22.5 amps). A 15000btu unit uses 3500 watts at start up (29 amps). Running, it's 11 amps and 12.5 amps.

BB_TX

McKinney, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 04/04/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/20 08:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I, too, have run my 15K A/C on 20 amp when working in the trailer. That is not camping, just working on something or getting ready for travel. And we have camped many times in the mountains on 20 amp service when there was no need for A/C.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I use 20 amp service
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.