cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New rig for boondocking?

JHinman
Explorer
Explorer
I am thinking of a new rig, and maybe a fifth-wheel this time. I have never towed a fifth-wheel before, though, and am uncertain whether that would be a good choice. Perhaps I can benefit from the expertise on this forum.

Our camping is almost exclusively boondocking, and typically older Forest Service campgrounds or “dispersal sites”. Maneuverability into these older facilities can be challenging, and the roads to and from can be rudimentary. Most of the rigs I see advertised are too big, but there are some 30-ft models that might be suitable.

I have been using an Arctic Fox travel trailer for the last 10 years, and a Nomad (by Skyline) of similar size for years before that. With a gross dry weight of 7200lb and a length of 28’-6”, the AF is easy to tow. Any TT or 5er I get will be fairly easy to tow, but what about backing in to a site? Any advantage to a 5th wheel in terms of control and maneuverability? Getting my current rig into a site without running over trees and rocks can take some doing.

What brands or models cater to boondockers? No fireplaces, crystal chandeliers, or TV Is needed, and I don’t think I have ever turned on the AC in any RV I have had. I do need cold-weather capability.

Thanks for any thoughts, or for issues that I ought to be thinking of.
17 REPLIES 17

C_Schomer
Explorer
Explorer
I just wish I could find a place to Boondock… Trees would be a huge bonus! Craig
2012 Dodge 3500 DRW CCLB 4wd, custom hauler bed.
2008 Sunnybrook Titan 30 RKFS Morryde and Disc brakes
WILL ROGERS NEVER MET JOE BIDEN!

JHinman
Explorer
Explorer
We made a decision, and would up with a travel trailer instead of a FW. At times we will probably miss the extra space of even the smallest FW, but there are some great features in the rig we bought.