Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Dish Network receiver question
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Network receiver question

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Rover_Bill

NE. Ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 04/22/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/02/20 10:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

msmith1199 wrote:

I want to get a receiver just for the motorhome, and my understanding with Dish is you don’t need a separate account. You can add it to your existing account. I think if you go with the Wally, it’s only an extra $7 a month. But I want the DVR so that’s why I’m asking. I get my house DIsh installed next week so I’ll ask the installer then if somebody on here doesn’t know the answer.


Yes, the extra Wally will only cost an extra $7/mo for the months you have it enabled. You can disable it when not needed to save a few bucks.

You can attach a DEDICATED disk drive to the Wally via the USB plug (in back) to function as a DVR after you register it with DISH for about $40 and then format the drive for the Wally. DISH website has good info on how to do that on their Support website.

Since you expect to have multiple Wally's, you will be able to copy/transfer movies between Wally's using a DEDICATED (specially formatted) thumb drive.

PS. You can transfer from Wally to Wally but not Hopper to Wally

* This post was edited 09/02/20 10:53pm by Rover_Bill *


2015 GMC Canyon 3.6L V6 4X4 TowHaul SLE ExtCab Bronze
2016 Keystone Passport GT 2670BH
ReCurve R6 hitch, DirecLink brake controller
2005 Suzuki C50 2006 Suzuki S40

TechWriter

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/02/20 11:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

lryrob9301 wrote:

It is my understanding that DISH will not allow two Hoppers on the same account.

Not true. You can have two Hopper 3s on the same account. However, as mentioned previously, you'll have to purchase that 2nd Hopper 3.


2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP
Full Timer since May 2013
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

steveh27

Grosse Pointe Woods, MI

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/03/20 04:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 211k in the house and move it to my rv when traveling. I have a hard drive plugged into it for a dvr. I use a Tailgater automatic dish. I have used a Dish 500 before. There is no cost to do this.

jorbill2or

Full time

Senior Member

Joined: 10/02/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/03/20 06:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

msmith1199 wrote:

Thanks all, that answers my questions. I did get the in motion dome, so sounds like I’ll have to do without a DVR and watch commercials! I can live with that.


As I said earlier , the wally is a DVR you just need to add a hard drive to it and you can record pause and fast forward. So no , you don’t have to do without a DVR. I thought I had made that point.
It’s actually cheaper as you aren’t paying extra for dvr tuner beyond the one time fee


Bill

2oldman

Mecca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/03/20 12:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I still have DTV, with a DVR that works fine. Not having a DVR would be a deal-breaker for me.

I don't know what 'going downhill' means, the only real trouble I've had with Direct is changing locals. I solved that by giving them an LA address.

If DTV is hemorrhaging customers, can Dish be far behind?

seabreeze321

Clayton, NM

New Member

Joined: 09/10/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/10/20 11:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Will a Dish Wally work with a King Dome 9630 (its 15 years old) .. I currently have DirecTV and it works great but I want to change to Dish Network, I just don't want to buy another "dome" for the motorhome.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/10/20 07:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

lryrob9301

Mid-Atlantic

Senior Member

Joined: 01/23/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/10/20 08:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As Bill said the KD 9630 will no longer work with DISH Network since March 2016.


2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6


bob_nestor

murphy

Senior Member

Joined: 05/08/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/19/20 06:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One option with Dish that I don't think Direct really offered is DishAnywhere. With the right setup at home that has as internet connection, you can "sling" all your Dish channels to where you happen to be in your RV - as long as you have a internet connection there as well. It doesn't cost anything and it will even sling local channels you might be receiving at home with an OTA antenna.

I've use this setup in my RV for some time now without any problem.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Network receiver question
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.