cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Peak Blue Platinum DEF

FishOnOne
Explorer III
Explorer III
Here's a new DEF product that maybe worth trying.

Link
'12 Ford Super Duty FX4 ELD CC 6.7 PSD 400HP 800ft/lbs "270k Miles"
'16 Sprinter 319MKS "Wide Body"
51 REPLIES 51

TravelinDog
Explorer
Explorer
Ron3rd wrote:
agesilaus wrote:
Frankly as a retired chemist I'd be more likely to believe this if they explained what miracle additive they are using. Otherwise it sounds like marketing BS. DEF is plain and simple 35% Urea and I don't know what 'deposits they were referring to. Searching google for 'def deposits' gets zero hits.

True, and from what I've read, there is no good/better/best or "premium" DEF. It's kind of like buying isopropyl alcohol at the drugstore; all brands are the same, it either meets a standard or it doesn't. That's why I buy the Walmart house brand for $7.88 for 2.5 gallons. Peak at Walmart is $11.88. Pump DEF is even cheaper but that's very inconvenient for me.

I've been using the same wallyworld DEF for over a year with ZERO problems.
It's nothing more than a marketing ploy.
If someone wants to waste their hard earned $$ on this new "Platinum" DEF that's their Choice.

That's where the saying " a fool and his money are soon parted" comes in handy.
Any DEF that meets the specs will do the job expected of it.
That's the same reason that even "house brand" oils that meet the spec for your vehicle work just as well as expensive name brand oil.
Just say no to the payload police :C

FishOnOne
Explorer III
Explorer III
Ron3rd wrote:
agesilaus wrote:
Frankly as a retired chemist I'd be more likely to believe this if they explained what miracle additive they are using. Otherwise it sounds like marketing BS. DEF is plain and simple 35% Urea and I don't know what 'deposits they were referring to. Searching google for 'def deposits' gets zero hits.