cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freightliner chassis

tvfrfireman
Explorer
Explorer
We have been RVing since the eighties and have alway had trailers and fifth wheels. We are now in the market for a diesel pusher. We have landed on one brand that had everything we were looking for and like the floor plan and the companies very good reputation. After searching for weeks, I have noticed some owners who seem to detest Freightliner chassis that is used in our choice of motorhome. One said he would rather walk and others with some horror stories how Freightliner wouldn't help them now that their motorhome was off warranty. I will tell you that I am not a mechanic or mechanical engineer and now feel as though we might have to start all over again in our search. If what they say is true then what chassis do we look for?.We have owned a few lemons in our day and I am worried if I get another, that my wife will put an end to our travels. I would love to have someone with some knowledge in chassis weigh in and tell me how to determine what chassis is sturdy and trouble free if there is such a thing. Thanks in advance....
17 REPLIES 17

Ro_n_Joe
Explorer
Explorer
Bruce Brown wrote:
^^^ On the steering column, are you referring to Comfort Drive or something else? I don't believe Daimler had anything to do with Comfort Drive. I could be wrong.

No not referring to Comfort Drive. The CD settings (along with a lot of other features) are changed via the steering wheel buttons on left side and setting shown on Dash. The gear selection is located on right side of column along with 3 stage Jake Brake selection. There are videos on line showing the system.
2020 Dutch Star 4328 on FL Chassis
2018 Grand Cherokee Limited
Ready Brute Elite Towbar & Road Master Wiring

Shot-N-Az
Explorer
Explorer
I had a choice between Spartan and FL when ordering my new Dutch Star. I chose FL.

Branson_N_Tucso
Explorer II
Explorer II