cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pinbox moves?

Lightning55
Explorer
Explorer
A friend has a Jayco 5th wheel that's about 4 years old and noticed that the pinbox seemed to move up and down over bumps. He couldn't remember ever noticing this before. Suspicious that something wasn't right, he raised and lowered the trailer off the truck and measured that the pinbox moved up and down 1/2 inch from the cap of the 5th wheel. He says it doesn't seem to pull any differently but I don't think this is normal. I'm no expert but it seems to me that the pinbox should remain firm with the trailer and not move, even slightly. Sounds to me like the pinbox is loose or broken away from the frame work of the trailer. Unfortunately, you can't see up in there without removing all the paneling around the pinbox which isn't as easy as it sounds. Does this sound like something serious?
12 REPLIES 12

Pwrstrok
Explorer
Explorer
I had that problem with a Sunny Brook. The cross member that the pin box was hooked to cracked on both sides, Had to cut it out and replace with thicker c-channel.

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Check for movement at bolts. My holes were stamped 11/16โ€ with 5/8โ€
Bolts. Mine did move a lot. Aligned pinbox to frame clamped and drilled holes to 3/4โ€ and filled with 3/4โ€ FRAME BOLTS.

Extended pinbox does move up at least 1/2โ€ when hitched but I have 6k pin.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

BurbMan
Explorer II
Explorer II
Lightning55 wrote:
Wow....150 views but only TWO opinions??

Not much else to add....the pin box should NOT be moving that much and likely indicates serious structural issues with the 5er. It will get worse over time and bumpy roads will accelerate the damage.

Lightning55
Explorer