cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

class c in the smoky mountain national park

dave17352
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 27 foot Class C. It is 11 feet foot in height. I am considering whether or not to rent a car. We plan to be there for up to six days and we have a reservation in Pigeon Forge. I have plenty of experience in driving a class C as my Truck Camper combo is the same length and height! I am looking for opinions on if I should rent a car or not. We like site seeing in the Rig for the convenience but want to know if it would be practical. We will be there during the week so it should help with crowds.

Thanks in advance!
NOW 2017 Leprechaun 260ds
2005 Forrest River Cardinal 29rkle FW
1998 Lance 980 11'3" TC
2017 CHEVY 3500 SRW 6.0
B@W turnover ball @ companion Hitch
Honda eu3000 generator mounted on cargo rack
Crestliner 1850 Fish Ski boat mostly fishing now!
16 REPLIES 16

Deb_and_Ed_M
Explorer
Explorer
dave17352 wrote:
Ok I have the car reserved thanks!!!!

You'll be happier - in our experiences with National Parks, some of the scenic turnouts can only handle a dozen cars (if that many) - being in a car might mean the difference between seeing something spectacular, and being forced to drive on due to not enough parking space for an RV.
Have a great trip!
Ed, Deb, and 2 dogs
Looking for a small Class C!

ken56
Explorer
Explorer
Glad to hear it. Have fun.

dave17352
Explorer
Explorer
Here now. I may say I am very glad I have rented the car. The park and the town is just one heck of a lot easier in the car. With enterprise they picked me up and will drop me back off at our camp. Super handy indeed. There are many places I would go with just my rig. This is one I would not want to.

Thanks again for the opinions
1998 Lance 980 11'3" TC
2017 CHEVY 3500 SRW 6.0

Horsedoc
Explorer II
Explorer II