Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: SiO2 Battery -UPDATE 5 (Two Batts)
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> SiO2 Battery -UPDATE 5 (Two Batts)

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 12  
Prev
BFL13

Victoria, BC

View Profile

Posted: 11/28/20 11:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

https://www.gliderpilotshop.com/lead_crystal

I am not an expert so it is just my opinion, but I don't see why sitting at 13.2 instead of 13.45 (see above charging info) would matter for RV work between trips or even for a few months.

You can leave the battery partially charged for long periods no harm, and the worst that 13.2 could do is fail to keep up with a slow discharge.

It looks like leaving them hooked up to the LP and stereo and disconnect open is the worst thing where it says they will get a little sulphated over time. In that case 13.2 between trips must be better, and you also get a shot of 14.4 every so often.

RV use does not match "cyclic use" unless full timing or "standby use" , so you can do whatever makes sense IMO.

1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
Photo in Profile
2. 1991 Bighorn 9.5ft Truck Camper on 2003 Chev 2500HD 6.0 Gas
See Profile for Electronic set-ups for 1. and 2.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

View Profile

Posted: 11/28/20 11:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ScottG,

My guess is only if you can do a full recharge every 30 days.

They are advertised as being able to sit uncharged for up to one year.

I'd write to the seller and ask.

Regards, Don