Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to tow travel trailer with 2 adults, 3 kids, and 2 dogs

Jas1317
Explorer
Explorer
Complete newbie.
We are in the market for a 30-33’ travel trailer and planning 2 cross country trips.
We need to choose the right vehicle!
2 adults, 3 kids (ages 3-9), and 2 medium sized dogs.
How do we do this? Can we make a pickup truck work? Super interested in any experienced feedback!
I know a large SUV is an option but will not tow the size travel trailer we’re really interested in. We may have to choose this route.
I do need the dogs safe and secure!
Thanks in advance! Any tips welcome!
35 REPLIES 35

falconbrother
Explorer II
Explorer II
We pull a 30 foot (officially 27 foot) travel trailer with slide with a Suburban. I added Sumo Supersprings to it. My wife does dog shows so we needed lots of climate controlled space to haul dogs. A modern Suburban or Expedition EL would do the trick. I think they come with somewhere around an 11000 lb tow weight rating.

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
Jas1317 wrote:
kfp673 wrote:
We do the same on a regular basis minus one dog. We have a crew cab Ram with a fiberglass cap. Our Lab rides in her crate in the back. If it's really hot then we will bring her to the back floor, but otherwise she does not seem to mind riding in the back at all! Other than that, Van, Large SUV, or Motorhome I think are your only options

This is great thank you! We looked at the GMC 2500HD today and the backseat is huge! I think we are going to do the same as you have suggested.

yes, 3 adults can be in the back of our denali CC for 600+ miles in comfort. there own climate control, lots of room. Center seat is ok, not great but still comfortable. Plenty of legroom, plenty of shoulder room and headroom. Kinda like a caddy or lincoln of the old days.
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison