cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing our first travel trailer! Big family

Jas1317
Explorer
Explorer
I got so much help here narrowing down our truck choice/needs so I am going to follow up with a post for recommendations for choosing a travel trailer.
We will have a pickup with towing capabilities of 13,000lbs+
2 parents with mild towing experience (horse trailers not campers), 3 young kids, and 2 dogs looking to hit the road for several months-long cross country road trips 🙂
We have done a decent amount of research and visited camping world, checked out lots of new and used travel trailers.
We are honing in on something in the 30-33’ range with bunk beds in a back room type set up for the kids and preferably an outdoor kitchen. We have seen a lot of Jaycos. I will be so grateful for any insights you experienced people don’t mind typing out to me. Thanks in advance! We are complete newbies.
49 REPLIES 49

Jas1317
Explorer
Explorer
We bought our first camper today! Thank you for all your responses and help! We ended up with a new jay o 32bhds! I hope we chose wisely. 🙂

camp-n-family
Explorer
Explorer
Jas1317 wrote:
spoon059 wrote:
camp-n-family wrote:
A model like our Keystone Bullet 31bhpr would fit the bill. There are several brands that have the same floor plan but I found the Keystone to be the lightest by a large margin and the quality was better than most.

It’s 34’ tongue to bumper and only 6400lbs dry. 8k gvwr. I wouldn’t tow it with less than a 3/4t truck or van.