Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to RV'ing, need a new vehicle

aquariafly
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all,

So we are looking into getting into camping a bit more and hoping to buy a travel trailer. First step we need to upgrade our vehicle since I'll be using this vehicle as a daily driver I want something sorta comfy and with seats to haul the family around. We were looking at VW Atlas, Highlander or Telluride. The max tow is 5000lb (with tow package and all). (Not looking at pick-ups)

We were hoping to get a small hybrid trailer like the Jayco Jayfeather X17Z or Surveyor 191T.

These are both around 3300lb. We'd be carrying 4-5 people max in the car + gear. Longest drive would be 4-5 hrs, mostly flat.

So I just want to see how realistic this setup would be. We would get all the necessary safety mods like weight distribution, electronic trailer brakes.

Anyone else using an SUV to tow a small trailer? Thank you all for the feedback and help in this decision.
15 REPLIES 15

camp-n-family
Explorer
Explorer
If you’re set on those vehicles loaded with people and gear you should stick with a pop up trailer
'17 Ram 2500 Crewcab Laramie CTD
'13 Keystone Bullet Premier 310BHPR
Hitched by Hensley

Gdetrailer
Explorer III
Explorer III
aquariafly wrote:
Probably with the larger cars like the Expedition and Armada won't fit right in my garage and no space on the driveway for it.

I'm trying to do some research on the VW Atlas and Subaru Ascent, which I've found on those forums people are pulling lots of different types.

I'm curious why the Jayco Jayfeather X17Z has such a high tongue weight for such a small trailer. I guess a lot of the weight is moved forward in the trailer?

Be very careful of ANY trailer that has a very low tongue weight for the size.

Tongue weight IS your "friend" when it comes to towing stability.