Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Winter camping in Alberta

jph1022
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,
I am planning a week long trip beginning of November in Alberta. This is my first time RVing with family. I have rented a RV with winter package so I think I am covered for the weather but I am trying to book a campground and all the national and provincial parks are closing down for the season. Please advice on what options I may have? I would really like to reserve a place so that I am not hunting for a place to park with kids.
Appreciate the help.

Cheers

JP
13 REPLIES 13

valhalla360
Nomad II
Nomad II
BobsYourUncle wrote:
I full timed 2 Calgary winters in my 3 season TT, So don't let anyone tell you it cannot be done. I was weeks on end with the temperature dropping to minus 33C or so.

Of course the OP has a rental unit for a week and is unlikely to be allowed to do modifications, nor will he likely have time.

Really, he can expect to leave the water system winterized or risk significant damage which the rental company will likely come after him for.

Unless you can find a place with open bath houses, it will be a miserable smelly week of camping...but it can be done.
Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV

jph1022 wrote:
Thankyou all for your suggestions. I certainly feel more confident now to try this out this winter. I am from Calgary so I am familiar with the weather, however doing it in an RV comes with some added adventure. 🙂

Adventure, yes!!
You weren't around the forum in 13 - 14 when I was FT in my TT in Calgary.
There were definitely some adventure stories!

Some of which I get reminded of from time to time here.....:B

But yes, it is certainly doable.
2007 GMC 3500 dually ext. cab 4X4 LBZ Dmax/Allison - 2007 Pacific Coachworks Tango 306RLSS
RV Rebuild Website - Site launched Aug 22, 2021 - www.rv-rebuild.com

garyhaupt
Explorer
Explorer