cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Old Coleman AC

Kpackpackkelley
Explorer
Explorer
Sometimes this Ac starts and runs right but sometimes starting amps go up to high and it will kick the breaker. Wanted advice on if it could be the capacitors or the compressor going out. Thanks
9 REPLIES 9

Kpackpackkelley
Explorer
Explorer
Looks like I need a new Ac.

Kpackpackkelley
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the answers. Iโ€™ll let you know what I find.

jjrbus
Explorer
Explorer
RV AC seems to have a tremendous amount of misinformation on the net. I am no expert either and can only relate my experience and opinion.

41 amps. It takes decent equipment to measure the starting amps of an AC. The 41 may be right or close enough. AC has 2 amp measurements running amps and LRA locked rotor amps. A very brief less than a second amp surge from the start capacitor to kick start the compressor. inexpensive meters will not measure the LRA accurately or at all!

Need a meter that can measure farads to actually measure the health of the capacitor. Can be good but not good enough, like a weak battery. Be cautious with capacitors they can produce enough voltage to kill!

Tough call, circuit breakers can and do get weak, go bad. Capacitors can get weak. Compressor may need a hard start. No idea how to test a breaker? I can test capacitor.

cheapest easiest option is replace breaker and hope!

bazar01
Explorer
Explorer
Kpackpackkelley wrote:
I donโ€™t know enough to make a decision. Donโ€™t want to spend the money on capacitors and it is the compressor going out thanks.
I had a clamp on meter on it and sometimes it would go up to 41 amps and kick the breaker. But other times I cut it on it would act normal and run right.

41 amps is too high on a 15 amp circuit breaker. It could be capacitor or compressor. Could be a loose spade connector on the cap or compressor.