cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

favorite tow vehicle for small trailer??

albireo13
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,
Newbie here.
Wife and I are looking into a small trailer (Aliner, Scamp, teardrop, etc) for maybe next year. We want something small so we can tow it with a car/SUV.
I am thinking <3500lb total weight.

My current car is a 2009 Pilot which is very long in the tooth. I relly need a new car so, I am shopping for that first. It will also be my daily drive car so, gas mileage is important, as is driving comfort. It will also be our tow vehicle in the future. I'd prefer a crossover or compact SUV or something like that.

My Pilot is chunky and gas mileage isn't great (< 20mpg highway, towing nothing). Plus, it has blind spots which bother me. I want to replace it soon. Budget is <$35K so high end vehicles are out of the picture.

Some cars I am considering:
Subaru Outback
Honda Passport
Toyota Highlander

I was wondering what folks use (and like) for towing their small trailers.
Whatcha got??
just me
37 REPLIES 37

ppine
Explorer II
Explorer II
Same as for a big trailer.

albireo13
Explorer
Explorer
Let me edit it a bit. Max dry TT weight will be 2500lb, not 3500lb.
Looking into teardrops, Aliner, etc.
just me

Desert_Captain
Explorer II
Explorer II
mkirsch wrote:
My favorite tow vehicle for a small trailer is my 2002 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW.

I know that's not helpful in your decision by any stretch of the imagination, but the question specified FAVORITE. I simply like driving the truck.

Nothing wrong with that... most folks who actually “get it”
feel the same way. For 15 years my favorite truck was an F-150 SCab now it’s my Honda Ridgeline. Drive what you like/love.

:C

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
My favorite tow vehicle for a small trailer is my 2002 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW.

I know that's not helpful in your decision by any stretch of the imagination, but the question specified FAVORITE. I simply like driving the truck.