cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Heating Cost: Electric vs. Propane

DallasSteve
Nomad
Nomad
I'm not sure if this is the best forum category for this thread.

I am spending the winter in South Texas and we are back to heating the motorhome. I bought an electric heater because I like to minimize my trips to refill the propane tanks. Here at this park they have a propane service that comes by every week and I can pay them to refill my tanks.

My question is: Is there much difference in the cost of heating with the electric heater (at 16.5 cents per KWH in this park) versus using the propane heater. The propane heater uses the thermostat and so it is a little easier to control the temperature throughout the rig, but other than that the electric heater can keep us warm.

Also, do you trust a propane service to use good propane and fill your tanks? (I don't know if using bad propane is a real problem as I am new to this) Generally I took my tanks to Tractor Supply and trusted the to give me a good liquid/gas.
2022 JAYCO JAY FLIGHT SLX 8 324BDS
2022 FORD F-250 XL CREW CAB 4X4
All my exes live in Texas, that's why I live in an RV
30 REPLIES 30

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
philh wrote:
valhalla360 wrote:

Modern 20# tanks don't hold 20#...but that's mostly due to the overfill device limiting how full they can fill.

Incorrect. Modern 20lb tanks hold 4.4 gallons, aka 20 lbs.

Exchange services fill them to 15 or 16 lbs for cost reasons. Take an exchange tank to a refilling service like tractor supply, and you'll get 20lbs of propane.

exactly. and the exchange places put the fill amount in fine print. IMHO the only use for a exchange tank is to exchange an expired tank with a newer one!
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!

philh
Explorer II
Explorer II
valhalla360 wrote: