cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Books for first time RV owners?

KMLsquared
Explorer
Explorer
Good friends of ours just purchased their first travel trailer. They are total newbies, only tent camped their entire lives. They have two young children. I want to get them a book that covers the basics of owning and using and RV. They are not at all mechanically or electrically inclined. I also don't want to scare them with sky is falling type stuff.

Anybody have any recommendations?

P.S. I did search but did not turn anything up.
2002 Doge RAM LB QC 4x4 HO 6spd
2003 Rampage 33TB
2007 CRF80F
2006 TTR50E
2004 CRF70
2002 TTR125L
2002 Banshee
1969 Baja Bug
17 REPLIES 17

campigloo
Explorer
Explorer
Most of the rv stuff is not that complicated. Help them buy a set of basic hand tools and show them how to replace a tire. I barrel jack is really handy if they have a trailer. Rv tire changes are a little different than on a car. Mostly get them to understand that if they don’t get scared of a problem and think they can’t handle it, just stop and look at it and think it through. They can probably do more than they’re giving themselves credit for.
They also might enjoy a subscription to trailer life or motor home life magazine. There are some informative articles on maintenance and just plain fun stuff, especially for a beginner.
I hope they enjoy the new toy. Happy Travels!!!

campigloo
Explorer
Explorer
Most of the rv stuff is not that complicated. Help them buy a set of basic hand tools and show them how to replace a tire. I barrel jack is really handy if they have a trailer. Rv tire changes are a little different than on a car. Mostly get them to understand that if they don’t get scared of a problem and think they can’t handle it, just stop and look at it and think it through. They can probably do more than they’re giving themselves credit for.