cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

How do I run propane furnace but not hot water heater

rmauk
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here. Due to freezing temps, I want to run the furnace on low but with all water drained, but not winterized yet. How do I run the furnace but not the hot water tank?
20 REPLIES 20

mobeewan
Explorer
Explorer
Don't forget the line going to the toilet and the flush vslve.

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
bukhrn wrote:
One more thought, Not water heater related, When you do get to winterizing, Don't forget the outside shower, Many newbies do forget it, (and a few old timers as well) sometimes that Oldzheimers kicks in. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Since you have dementia, here is a reminder to add the black tank flusher to the list.

CharlesinGA
Explorer
Explorer
rmauk wrote:
Watched the videos on anode rods. Thank you.

The issue here is that there are two brands of water heaters, Surburban, which has a steel tank and the anode rod, and the electric switch on the outside on the LH side hidden by some wiring and other stuff.

The other brand is Atwood, now Dometic, and they have an aluminum tank and NO anode rod. They have a plastic drain plug on the LH lower corner of the tank.

In either case, drain the tank.

Charles
'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO six speed, PacBrake Exh Brake, std cab, long bed, Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. previously (both gone) 2008 Thor/Dutchman Freedom Spirit 180 & 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome.

bukhrn
Explorer III
Explorer III
One more thought, Not water heater related, When you do get to winterizing, Don't forget the outside shower, Many newbies do forget it, (and a few old timers as well) sometimes that Oldzheimers kicks in. ๐Ÿ˜‰
2007 Forester 2941DS
2014 Ford Focus
Zamboni, Long Haired Mini Dachshund

kellem
Explorer
Explorer
valhalla360 wrote:
Ed_Gee wrote:
bukhrn wrote:
rmauk wrote: