Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Fifth-Wheels: New 5th wheel hitch.
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

> New 5th wheel hitch.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
dryfly

Texas

View Profile

Posted: 11/07/20 09:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This is not a which hitch is the best question.

I've got a 16K Husky slider hitch that I've been using for 12 years. Since I keep my truck in the garage, it still looks pretty good, but it's obviously aging (like me). I'm wondering what the life span on these hitches are? I really can't find any points on the hitch to service.

Even though I have a short bed Dodge truck, I have never once needed to engage the slider, but I've had to put up with the slop associated with it. If I bought a new hitch I'd probably go with a B&W.

So I guess the question is "how long should one go without updating a hitch" ?

MFL

Midwest

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 11/07/20 10:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't think anyone can say "you have to update every XX years", as all hitches are not equal, or have the same care.

After 12 years, and your words "put up with the slop", I would just get the new B&W that you are considering.

Your Husky should still have some value, as it is a good hitch. I'd sell it, maybe getting a third, or near half the cost of a new B&W 16K Patriot. I'm guessing you have rails, and the Patriot is IMO, the best hitch out there for rails. You will have ZERO slop, and a very user friendly, well built hitch, that has a lot of ahead/back adjustment.