Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Battery switch

MattandNaomisRV
Explorer
Explorer
Blue Sea
6006200, M Series Mini Battery Switch, Black, Single Circuit ON/OFF w/ Knob
I'm new to my RV and trying to figure out what everything does and why different things aren't working. Can anyone tell me the purpose of this switch?
9 REPLIES 9

TakingThe5th
Explorer
Explorer
I can also include my landing gear on the list.
TakingThe5th - Chicago, Western Suburbs
'05 Ford F350 Crew 6.0 DRW Bulletproofed. Pullrite Super 5th 18K 2100 hitch.
'13 Keystone Cougar 333MKS, Maxxfan 7500, Progressive EMS-HW50C, Grey Water System.

Old-Biscuit
Explorer II
Explorer II
Majority of Battery Disconnect Switches do NOT disconnect all loads.....
Parasitic loads can be LP/CO Detectors, Radio, Clocks etc

Many folks turn it off expecting ALL DC is shutdown only to return weeks later and find batteries DEAD

Really depends on HOW the disconnect switch has been installed.
Don't 'ASSUME' it shuts down ALL DC

Look at the Battery POS Post....does it have just one large cable connected to it or does it also have several smaller gauge wires connected.
Smaller gauge wires probably do not go thru disconnect switch
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
rlw999 wrote:
cavie wrote:

the parasitic drains from the CO, LP, stereo are NOT on the disconnect switch. You need a separate battery disconnect to do that.

That must be RV specific because in my 2017 Coachmen, the battery disconnect definitely disconnects everything, including the CO/LP detector (the green light goes out when I turn off the disconnect).

I'm surprised that's not universal behavior since it wouldn't be a very good disconnect if it doesn't actually disconnect everything.