cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quiet heater that doesn’t drain batteries ?

Jwpup
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

I’m new to the RV world, just started making family trips in a new travel trailer (forest river wolf pup). But temperatures are dropping and the heater that came with the camper is horrendously loud. It wakes us up every time it kicks on at night.

All of our camping is without hookups and we are trying to find out if there’s a better alternative for heating the unit at night, without a noisy fan, and without draining the batteries. Any ideas?

Thanks,

John
56 REPLIES 56

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
Monaramblee wrote:
Because we dont like the constant noisy cycling on and off of the furnace while sleeping i lower the thermostat to 50 ish at bed time. This way the furnace usually doesnt come on until early morning depending on the outside temp. Then in the morning i bump it up to 70 ish and go back to bed for an hour.

ditto, but we have a setback thermostat set to come on at 7am. Furnace coming on is our "alarm", wakes us up, then wait a while to get up, trailers warm.
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!

C_Schomer
Explorer
Explorer
Darn dictation… That was supposed to be eliminated. Sorry
2012 Dodge 3500 DRW CCLB 4wd, custom hauler bed.
2008 Sunnybrook Titan 30 RKFS Morryde and Disc brakes
WILL ROGERS NEVER MET JOE BIDEN!

Dtank
Explorer
Explorer
C Schomer wrote:

That illuminated 100% of the odor.

:)..:@..:B..:D

Monaramblee
Explorer
Explorer
Because we dont like the constant noisy cycling on and off of the furnace while sleeping i lower the thermostat to 50 ish at bed time. This way the furnace usually doesnt come on until early morning depending on the outside temp. Then in the morning i bump it up to 70 ish and go back to bed for an hour.
2008 Holiday rambler Vacationer XL