Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Basic Question About AC Power Wiring
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Basic Question About AC Power Wiring

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next
dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/26/21 06:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

I find it odd to be the transfer switch since both the utility cord and on-board generator have the same issue.

Maybe start with isolating some circuits like setting the fridge and water heater to propane only.


You are not understanding a Transfer switch and also HOW the OP is doing his 120 power.
1. He states that his ONBOARD Gen is having the problem
2. He states his stand alone genset has the same problem
3. YES, his Stand alone uses the Shore power cord
4. BUT!!!!! His Stand Alone STILL uses the ATS relay with its contac points. The INPUT points are on BOTH sides of the relay. So, over the years he has probably pitted the points on Shore side and also on On Board Genset side. That is why I suggested he BYPASS the ATS and wire direct. That will determine very quickly what his problem is. Doug

HadEnough

Traveling. Always.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/21 01:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dougrainer wrote:

time2roll wrote:

I find it odd to be the transfer switch since both the utility cord and on-board generator have the same issue.

Maybe start with isolating some circuits like setting the fridge and water heater to propane only.


You are not understanding a Transfer switch and also HOW the OP is doing his 120 power.
1. He states that his ONBOARD Gen is having the problem
2. He states his stand alone genset has the same problem
3. YES, his Stand alone uses the Shore power cord
4. BUT!!!!! His Stand Alone STILL uses the ATS relay with its contac points. The INPUT points are on BOTH sides of the relay. So, over the years he has probably pitted the points on Shore side and also on On Board Genset side. That is why I suggested he BYPASS the ATS and wire direct. That will determine very quickly what his problem is. Doug


Exactly.

HadEnough

Traveling. Always.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/21 01:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Status report:

Since the problem is transitory, it’s going to take a long time to test. I got that plug in voltmeter from up thread. I also got a new multimeter for testing.

I tightened every single connection everywhere throughout the power system.

Immediately on startup of the generator for fine tuning, I saw 70 volts on the plug in meter as it cycled on and off about once a second.

No appliances at all were on except he battery charger, which is tiny and a default.

While it was cycling and not harming anything I checked some connections. Once the issue went away, I finally did what I had set out to do which was to adjust the generator speed to get perfect power. It was at 108 which is a little low. The frequency also was low. I moved it around but and ended up at 120v and 58.5Hz, under the load of the electric hot water heater. Good power. I couldn’t get exactly 60Hz without going above 120v so I stayed at those figures.

I haven’t seen the issue again yet, but have only used the microwave very briefly. It hasn’t been air conditioning weather in Florida lately. Ha ha.

I’ll update with new info in case anyone else has a problem like this.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/21 01:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

I would move it up to get 60 hertz so long as voltage doesn't go more than about
124 volts.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, soon to have SiO2 batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 02/04/21 06:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Adjust it to get right at 60 hertz. Your voltage without load can go nearly 125 volts. Once genset comes under load, the voltage will drop.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


KMLsquared

Cotati CA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/27/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/04/21 07:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

HadEnough wrote:

Status report:

Since the problem is transitory, it’s going to take a long time to test. I got that plug in voltmeter from up thread. I also got a new multimeter for testing.

I tightened every single connection everywhere throughout the power system.

Immediately on startup of the generator for fine tuning, I saw 70 volts on the plug in meter as it cycled on and off about once a second.

No appliances at all were on except he battery charger, which is tiny and a default.

While it was cycling and not harming anything I checked some connections. Once the issue went away, I finally did what I had set out to do which was to adjust the generator speed to get perfect power. It was at 108 which is a little low. The frequency also was low. I moved it around but and ended up at 120v and 58.5Hz, under the load of the electric hot water heater. Good power. I couldn’t get exactly 60Hz without going above 120v so I stayed at those figures.

I haven’t seen the issue again yet, but have only used the microwave very briefly. It hasn’t been air conditioning weather in Florida lately. Ha ha.

I’ll update with new info in case anyone else has a problem like this.


FYI: I have a similar plug in meter and it always reads 105 when the gen is heavily loaded. I checked with a good meter and found that the voltage was really 110. Its a good idea to verify the meter is accurate.


2002 Doge RAM LB QC 4x4 HO 6spd
2003 Rampage 33TB
2007 CRF80F
2006 TTR50E
2004 CRF70
2002 TTR125L
2002 Banshee
1969 Baja Bug

HadEnough

Traveling. Always.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/06/21 04:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The problem seems to be gone. Had a good afternoon of generator running to run the air conditioner.

External generator was at 120 under load at 58.5Hz. I left it there. That seems to be making the transfer switch happy.

I think the onboard generator deciding to shut down a couple times may have been some kind of fluke.

So it’s working, but I don’t have a full understanding of what happened. Possibly all the wires I tightened played a role as well.

HadEnough

Traveling. Always.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/10/21 03:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Problem came back.

Watched the external generator brown out to 90V. During a warm day yesterday after a couple hours running the air conditioning.

Was able to finally do a comprehensive test of everything since it stayed at 90 for a long time.

Confirmed the on board generator is functioning ok. Not perfect. Needs to be sped up. It’s putting out 110/109 at 56hz. But the power is stable and working properly.

The wiring is not currently an issue from the external generator to the air conditioner.

The wiring inside the external generator isn’t an issue.

That leaves one and only one thing to be the problem.

The AVR inside the generator is misbehaving. That’s why it’s so intermittent. It’s an electronics problem.

Replacing the AVR as soon as I can get one.

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Online
Posted: 02/10/21 02:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

HadEnough wrote:

Problem came back.

Watched the external generator brown out to 90V. During a warm day yesterday after a couple hours running the air conditioning.

Was able to finally do a comprehensive test of everything since it stayed at 90 for a long time.

Confirmed the on board generator is functioning ok. Not perfect. Needs to be sped up. It’s putting out 110/109 at 56hz. But the power is stable and working properly.

The wiring is not currently an issue from the external generator to the air conditioner.

The wiring inside the external generator isn’t an issue.

That leaves one and only one thing to be the problem.

The AVR inside the generator is misbehaving. That’s why it’s so intermittent. It’s an electronics problem.

Replacing the AVR as soon as I can get one.


Not sure what a AVR is but I’m glad you’re on top of it...However as I recall this malady occured when using either generator - is this not the case??

3 tons

HadEnough

Traveling. Always.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/17/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/10/21 02:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

3 tons wrote:

HadEnough wrote:

Problem came back.

Watched the external generator brown out to 90V. During a warm day yesterday after a couple hours running the air conditioning.

Was able to finally do a comprehensive test of everything since it stayed at 90 for a long time.

Confirmed the on board generator is functioning ok. Not perfect. Needs to be sped up. It’s putting out 110/109 at 56hz. But the power is stable and working properly.

The wiring is not currently an issue from the external generator to the air conditioner.

The wiring inside the external generator isn’t an issue.

That leaves one and only one thing to be the problem.

The AVR inside the generator is misbehaving. That’s why it’s so intermittent. It’s an electronics problem.

Replacing the AVR as soon as I can get one.


Not sure what a AVR is but I’m glad you’re on top of it...However as I recall this malady occured when using either generator - is this not the case??

3 tons


The AVR is the electronic circuit board that replaces the capacitor in modern generators. Like most things electronic, it’s a piece of junk. Ha ha

But yes. I had initially thought the two generators behaved the same because by crazy coincidence, the onboard onan genset decided to cut out at the same time the other one was misbehaving.

I like to post a conclusion to any threads a start so that if other people run into the same problem, they find an answer.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Basic Question About AC Power Wiring
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.