cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

tandem axle channel supports

grampyjd
Explorer
Explorer
I am in the process of buying a 32' travel trailer and would appreciate some input from current/past owners. After looking this trailer over, again, I noticed that the dual axle supports were formed steel channels with no center pivot point. Has anyone had problems with these channels bending or any towing problems. My wife and I have been RVing for forty years in motor homes but now were ready to down-size and this is our first pull trailer.

Any comments good or bad will be greatly appreciated.

Grampyjd
Life member
Sincerely,

grampyjd
jstouffer@stouffertech.com
12 REPLIES 12

djsamuel
Nomad
Nomad
grampyjd wrote:
Thank you for the info. Here is the photo I wanted to show. The formed steel angle looks some what light for twisting and turning the travel trailer

Looks very similar to my camper with similar axles. No problems over 7 years.

2013 Camplite 21BHS Trailer, Ram 1500 Tow Vehicle

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
grampyjd wrote:
Thanks to each and everyone of you. I learned a lot. I did not notice the missing rubber boots for the brake adjustment. Should have known I adjusted a lot of brakes back in the sixties. I had no idea that there would be rubber inside the axle tube. Wow this old dog needs to do more reading.

Thanks a million everyone.
Yeah, it is basically a rubber spring system. There are a few different versions of such suspensions out there.
Like everything, there are pros and cons.
Pros: Independant suspension and a lower ride height. Pretty much maintainence free, for quite a while.