cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autosocks (chain replacements) Experience

brholt
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been carrying a set of Autosocks for 7+ years now in case I needed to ”chain up” and to satisfy the requirements of carrying chains on some passes. Since they weigh so little and take up so little space I just keep them in the truck all the time. Up to now I have never had to use them.

We are in a 7,000 mile trip heading home and stopped at a Harvest Host farm in the California Mountains. The day before we arrived they had a lot of snow dumped on them (California 58 was closed) but when we arrived it was sunny and 40 degrees. The long driveway was covered in snow with a cow path from a few vehicles. We had no problem with our F350 DRW carrying an AF1150 making it through the snow to our parking place.

That night it rained a little and then the temperature dipped to 20 degrees. By morning it had risen to 33 degrees. Not surprisingly the driveway out was very icy and when I went to check it out I had trouble walking on it, especially the long uphill segment. I was very concerned if I could make it up even in 4 wheel low gear.

I decided to put on the Autosocks on the outer rears, Having used chains before I was pleasantly shocked at how easy they went on. I put it in 4 wheel low and we just drove up the driveway without any slippage. It was trivial to take them off and I shook them off and put them in the floor of the camper to dry off while we drove. Later I put them back in their bag.

I don’t know, I suppose I could have made it up the hill without them, but I don’t think so, certainly not without some slippage. Given their small size and how impressed I was with them and their ease of use I am going to buy another pair for the front tires.
19 REPLIES 19

Kayteg1
Explorer
Explorer