Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New F350 owner seeks TC information

F-350shortBed
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a 2000 F350, crew cab, shortbed in order to acquire a TC so that I can avoid the hour commute to and from work. I am an ICU nurse, things have been very busy lately so I have been picking up a lot of extra shifts. Also had a few mandated 16hour days and shifts.

I come seeking knowledge on selecting the appropriate camper which I would like to purchase used. I have been expanding my search since I recently learned a lot of people mount longer TC's on 1 ton shortbed trucks with airbags and beefier shocks/springs. This opens up my options, plus I have a family id like to take on the road someday and having more space would be nice.

The truck I bought has 6" lift, airbags, heavier springs, shocks, and lower gears. The guy i bought it from towed a 5th wheel with it. It also has a shift kit and it's a diesel.

I hope this topic isn't oppressively beat to death already, there are some dead posts I've read which still leave me with questions like:

How do i figure out the COG on certain models like: 2014 Arctic fox 811; 97' Bigfoot 3000 series; etc...?

Also, should I install tie down mounts now or after I find my TC? I kinda want to drive away with it the day I buy it, but who knows? I'm leaning towards torklift, i often camp down in Baja on 4x4 type roads (when there is no pandemic.)

And should I remove the tailgate now or wait? I guess i could leave it on then remove onsite if needed.

Thanks for reading this.
76 REPLIES 76

Buzzcut1
Nomad II
Nomad II
F-350shortBed wrote:
My rig is dope, it handles fine.

When Iโ€™m rolling down the Baja peninsula and all the haters be posting about raised trucks being death traps from the safety of a KOA campground, Iโ€™ll be even happier about my setup.

Go do a shakedown cruise on to the Carizzo Plain just south of you and have a blast.