cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2021 Ford F53 Chassis v8 engine

Motor_City_Swag
Explorer
Explorer
I noticed that the new Ford class A motorhomes built on the F53 chassis are now using the V8 engine instead of the 6.8 V10 does anyone know the why? How does the V8 compare to the v10?

Motor City Swagman 2000 Bounder 36S
Ford V-10, Banks Power Pack w/ TC,
BrakeBuddy,Davis Tru Trac,Safe T Plus,Aventa II & Xplorer Sport Trac

:W
15 REPLIES 15

Monkeyman_and_L
Explorer
Explorer
Not that I'd trade in a 3 YO motorhome for the latest and greatest new option anyway, but as an engineer I prefer a system that's been put through the tests of time. The V10 in my BayStar 3414 (just like the video!) does a great job. took it to Ohio from Maryland, so had some nice mountains to clear and it did just fine.

As far as off the line acceleration...yeah, the 7.3 seems a bit faster, but as long as I can get onto the interstate and merge into traffic without plunging the right lane to any great degree, it works just fine.

The 7.3 will either succeed or fail over the next few years and become the new normal. I hope Ford succeeds with it like they did with that V10. Great design. I had a 5.4 V8 Expedition (just add 2 cylinders and it's the same engine) and that engine pulled my trailer I owned very well and never had an issue. So I knew what kind of engine to expect in the MH.
Monkeyman, Lady and little chimp
2018 Newmar Baystar 3414
2022 Ford Escape Hybrid TOAD

billyray50
Explorer
Explorer
dodge guy wrote:
Bruce Brown wrote:
Its not just the HP difference, it also has more torque and now its running through a 10 speed transmission instead of a 6 speed.

So far every report I've seen has been very positive. Well, except from a few current V10 owners that don't want to accept the newer driveline is better. :W

There are also chassis upgrades as well.

The F53 isn't getting the 10 speed. It's still mated with the 6 speed.