Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: My Magnetek converter
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > My Magnetek converter

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Weldon

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 02/14/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/21 06:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My converter is 16 years old, it has 2, 30 amp fuses for 12 volt operation. If you only have 1, 30 amp fuse rather than 2 what is the result?
This occured and was this way for a week. Went out to open the slide and it opened fine- operates off the 12 volt system. As we turned lights on, what would be 12 volt, they became dimmer. After setting overnight the battery would build some power but diminish quickly. Battery showed 10.9 volts. All 120 volt items work well.
Volt meter on 2 large wires in front of converter showed 9.9.
Is battery bad and converter?

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/21 06:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You need both 30 amp Reverse Polarity fuses for the converter to work. You have been on battery, which has run down. It needs to be recharged ASAP.

You have the newer 7300 converter, not the old 6300 type, name changed to Parallax soon after the 7300s came out early 2000s.


1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
Photo in Profile
2. 1991 Bighorn 9.5ft Truck Camper on 2003 Chev 2500HD 6.0 Gas
See Profile for Electronic set-ups for 1. and 2.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/07/21 06:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would assume both are shot. Need to separate and test each separately. If you have a portable charger you could try charging the battery and see what it does. PD4645 would replace the converter very nicely and take far better care of the new battery.

http://www.bestconverter.com/PD4645V-45-Amp-Converter-Upgrade


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/21 08:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Having dissected too many converters, I believe I can safely say failed capacitors are a prime reason for malfunction when they get gray hair. Then after replacing the obvious failed cap, testing of the remainder reveals none that survive a test. And unless someone has special buying power replacing the weak capacitors would bring a price tag shock. The clincher to me is the possibility of failure in the control circuit. Some manufacturers buff off component ID numbers. Integrated circuits become obsolete and have no known replacements. I do not remember seeing a detailed explanation in the forum why repairs are obsolete so I thought I'd add my one cent's worth [emoticon]

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/21 09:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

I'd replace it with a boondocker, Iota, or Progressive Dynamics model.

http://bestconverter.com/


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, soon to have SiO2 batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/21 05:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dang.. Do not know what model Magnatek you have but recommwend upgradeing

The rest of this is specific to the 6330 but may cover other models.

The 6330 is not like modern converters it is a converter that outputs raw unfiltered rectifiesd A/C regulated by a ferroresonate transformer.. NOT GOOD AT ALL, and a small low current charger thats also poorly regulated A relay bridges the two if no shore power. Kind of like this

Battery---30 amp---T1---Relay---T2--30 amp--branch circuits.

T-1 is the charger and a couple of branch circuits (IE: Radio) that truly need clean DC.. T2 is the converter

so to run on batteries you need BOTH fuses. but one and I do not know wich will do on shore power.

IF one is blown. the other likely is as well but check it. replace BOTH with power off (Battery disconnected shore unpluged) or better yet upgrade the electroincs with either a progressive 4600 or 9200 (46 for "Converter is part of fuse panel) 9200 if it's a stand alone.. Your batteries will thank you.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Weldon

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 02/14/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/21 06:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

waWA8yxm
It is in 7300 series, # 7345 I think.

Weldon

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 02/14/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/21 06:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BFL13, I am going to start with a charged or new battery.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/21 04:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I do not know the 7300 series
On most coverters MOREW than30amps (that's a 45) the two 30 amp fuses are in parallel so if one blows so does the other.. over 60 amps they add a 3rd fuse also in parallel. and again if one blows. so do the other two.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/21 05:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The 6300s did not have RP fuses, the 7300s(and 7100s) had theirs in the DC fuse panel. Deck mount 7400 on the unit.

From that in the OP, he did not have the 6300.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > My Magnetek converter
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.