Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Brake controller hookup
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Brake controller hookup

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Seabass69

Texas

Full Member

Joined: 12/28/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/01/21 09:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a holiday rambler scepter 2004, needing to hook up a controller. I read somewhere that some coaches have the needed wires up front under the dash to use, I was hoping someone could get me headed in the right direction before I spend a lot of time figuring it out..

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/01/21 09:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, Roadmaster/Freightliner/Spartan did run wires for a Dash Brake Controller. The problem with those wires is, they were usually (IMO) to small Gauge to correctly activate the voltage required to operate the towed electric brakes. As a Service shop we always ran our own 12 gauge bundled 2 wire(Brake feed and return from the Rear Brake lights), to make sure we had a adequate wire gauge to operate the system. Another reason, even with knowledge that the Chassis maker supplied the wires, it took up to an hour or more to find and locate the wire bundle, plus maybe taking the Instrument cluster out of the dash to get access to the wire bundles. That 1 hour, you can run a new 2 wire harness from front to rear. Some Ford Class A chassis the Ford quick connect is usually easy to find, but same problem with wire gauge too small. Great for a Pick up but not for a 36 foot motorhome chassis. Doug

tarnold

georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/03/21 08:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Look for a heavy usually blue wire bottom left kick panel.

Ivylog

Blairsville, GA and WPB, FL.

Senior Member

Joined: 06/30/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/03/21 06:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Look for 5 wires in a white plastic connector for 6 wires hopefully near the obd connector...left side of steering column. Good luck finding the 4 wires that run to the back... finally found them behind the rear run box after giving up on finding them. Also the brake signal up front is not what you need...a ground is supplied...no +12V signal.

I wasted several hours trying to find the wires and finally mounted the brake controller in the engine area as everything you need is easy to find and once set I never change the gain (amount of braking) on the controller... one hour to install. If you find both ends of the wires I would use 2 of them for the output of the brake controller.

* This post was edited 05/03/21 06:18pm by Ivylog *


This post is my opinion (free advice). It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Sold 04 Dynasty to our son after 14 great years.
Upgraded with a 08 HR Navigator 45’...


Seabass69

Texas

Full Member

Joined: 12/28/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/03/21 09:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks, i ended up running a brake wire back.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Brake controller hookup
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.