Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F150 w EcoBoost 2.7

Weluv2rv
Explorer
Explorer
Anybody else using one of these to tow?

We are complete newbies, so forgive my lack of knowledge. I bought a 2021 F150 with all the tow packages, including the new tow-assist module (replacing what used to be a decal, I think).

It has the 2.7 EcoBoost with 10-speed auto and if I recall correctly, a 3.55 ratio.

I’m pulling a 6600 lb. trailer with ease, but seeing mileage in the low 7’s.

Before I run out and trade for a 250 Diesel, any suggestions? And if I move to the 250, what can I expect in improvement, if any?

Thanks again for letting a newbie show his ignorance! We’re looking forward to this new chapter in our retirement life!
28 REPLIES 28

Me_Again
Explorer II
Explorer II
Groover wrote:

The issue isn't the weight. It is the air drag on a 10' high 8' wide trailer. The 2.7 will easily handle the weight. Any engine will struggle with the air drag. He really needs to look at ways to reduce the air drag.

Which means slow down. That is the biggest fuel saver available in any tow vehicle.
2021 F150 2.7 Ecoboost - Summer Home 2017 Bighorn 3575el. Can Am Spyder RT-L Chrome, Kawasaki KRX1000. Retired and enjoying it! RIP DW 07-05-2021

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
NO engine "struggles" with anything if it's running right. It just turns RPMs and pulls.

Ecoboost engines produce "eco(nomy)" or "boost," not both at the same time.

Towing a big draggy trailer, it is going to be producing more boost, using more fuel.

To put it simply, there is no free lunch here. It takes fuel to make power.

How much towing do you really do? All day every day, then fine, upgrade to the F250 diesel. Once or twice a month, live with what you have and enjoy the fuel economy the 99.9% of the time you're not towing.

Putting 10-ply tires on half ton trucks since aught-four.

blt2ski