Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Receiver Hitch for Trailer

K3WE
Explorer
Explorer
I have a very specific question:

Is anyone aware of good receiver hitch kits to put a hitch on a travel trailer. I've seen lots of kits for adding hitches to vehicles.

I am wanting a good hitch to use a carrier- but not really interested in triple towing.

I am also a veteran of this: On our first camper I did-it-myself, first with U-bolts through a simple bolt-on receiver hitch (and discovered why that is a bad idea), and then went to a welder who sold me a nice heavy square tube for the bumper, welded the receiver too it and bolted it in place of the stock bumper.

The new trailer has a "better" bumper, but it's welded on AND I do not think the new bumper is quite strong enough (and of course, "the directions" say don't do it.

I should probably cut that bumper off (a bit of a hassle) and fabricate mounting brackets for my old "super bumper-with-receiver" (which I still have).

However if there was a good kit- it could be a time saver of drilling a couple holes and tightening some bolts and not turn a perfectly good bumper into scrap iron.

Thanks.
12 REPLIES 12

K3WE
Explorer
Explorer
enblethen wrote:
Might look at some of these.
Curt multi fit hitches

YES- even better. Thank you!

K3WE
Explorer
Explorer
rirish1 wrote:
This is how I solved the problem. An adjustable receiver welded to my TT frame. I've hauled 2 bikes to Alaska and back as well as numerous other trips without problem. It is available on etrailer.com

Curt Adjustable Trailer Hitch Receiver - 18"-51" Wide - 2" Drop - Class III - 2"

Thank you.

BurbMan
Explorer II
Explorer II
These Curt RV Hitches are designed to extend greater lateral distances and bolt to the trailer's frame rails. You'll probably have to drill the TT frame to accommodate the receiver, but you should be able to have it fit below the existing bumper.

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Might look at some of these.