cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jayco 8ft sportsman. Confused on battery setup/boondocking

Wil20111
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone, I’m completely new to truck campers. I picked up a late 90s jayco 8ft truck camper. The converter says power or batt but I am not seeing anywhere to hook up a couple of amg batteries to run things. The fridge also has the option to run off of propane, electric or 12v. Am I missing something or what would be the best way to wire a couple of batteries up? If this has been answered please direct me to the information. I have searched everywhere and cannot find the answers I’m looking for, thanks.
7 REPLIES 7

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
This is unfathomable to some, but there were many campers built that did not have battery boxes. Mine, a 2000 Palomino B1500 popup, being one of them.

These campers were designed to run off the vehicle battery through the 12V charge line of your 7-pin trailer plug.

On mine the converter is also the breaker box and fuse panel. The 12V from the truck comes into the converter and powers the 12V items when the converter isn't plugged in, and carries charge current back to the battery when it is plugged in. Find that wire, and that's where you connect your batteries in.

Putting 10-ply tires on half ton trucks since aught-four.

StirCrazy
Nomad III
Nomad III
Wil20111 wrote:
Hi everyone, I’m completely new to truck campers. I picked up a late 90s jayco 8ft truck camper. The converter says power or batt but I am not seeing anywhere to hook up a couple of amg batteries to run things. The fridge also has the option to run off of propane, electric or 12v. Am I missing something or what would be the best way to wire a couple of batteries up? If this has been answered please direct me to the information. I have searched everywhere and cannot find the answers I’m looking for, thanks.