Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Travel Trailers: VERY BAD ROOF/ Please help
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> VERY BAD ROOF/ Please help

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
SheilaEJ

Cape Cod

View Profile

Posted: 06/25/21 09:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi Folks

I’m a newbie. Hope you can help.

I’m the new owner of a 1991 30’ Dutchmen Travel Trailer.
It does not travel, located in a seasonal campground in Massachusetts.

The roof has major problems and during rains it poured in, especially in hall area.
I need advice please.
Showed it to one repair person, he said my roof was “ toast” and that the ripples in roof meant that no sealant would do the job. He suggested building a standing RV carport type thing but they are not permitted , and it’s expensive. Or a little pitched roof on top but I don’t think the walls could support that.
Another repair person suggested removing a section of ceiling and replacing trusses. And then sealing roof.

I have roof repair research fatigue. I’d so appreciate any guidance from you folks.
I’m hoping to find a relatively inexpensive way to assess this.
Has anyone ever built a light weight peak roof on top of old travel trailer. Perhaps using canvas and pvc? All ideas welcome. Thank you.

CA Traveler

The Western States

View Profile

Posted: 06/25/21 10:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Most likely you have dry rot in the roof, floor and perhaps walls due to the water. ie More extensive than just roof trusses. Do a complete inspection for soft wood areas, a ice pick or screwdriver can help. ie A future sound roof won't resolve dry rot.