Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: AGM battery question for the experts.
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> AGM battery question for the experts.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
JaxDad

Greater Toronto Area

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 07/23/21 05:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I will readily admit, I’m not a battery expert, let alone AGM batteries.

I have a (to me) real puzzler, maybe it’s just chemistry I don’t understand. I have a ‘powersports’ battery, an ETX20L if it maters, that reads 12.5 volts at rest but drops to 0 when any load is applied.

The really strange (to me) part is that once the load is removed the voltage rebounds to 12.5 volts.

Once I try to charge it though it won’t take a charge since it’s already ‘charged’ at 12.5 volts.

What am I missing here?

Thanks in advance.

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

View Profile

Posted: 07/23/21 05:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

• How old is the battery?
  • Is this a 20 amp hour garden tractor size battery?
  • It reads 12.5 volts but cannot sustain any type of load?
  • Instant total loss of power?
  • Then returns to 12.5 volts once the load is removed?

FWC

The Wilderness

View Profile

Posted: 07/23/21 05:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You have a bad connection somewhere inside the battery, that has very high resistance. When you are measuring the voltage with the meter, you aren't drawing any current, so there is no voltage drop across this bad connection. As soon as you load the battery, it is pulling current so there is voltage drop, which is why you see the voltage at the terminals drop to near zero.