cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Switching from Florida to Arizona or Texas

Kyedog
Explorer
Explorer
Looking for some advice. I have been wintering in Florida for the past 5 years. Florida has gotten so busy and the red tide is never ending. I just really would like a change.
I am looking for an area to spend November to April in. I have been thinking about Corpus Christi area or maybe Yuma. Unfortunately I know nothing about either. I prefer a smaller 55+ park. Also I am open to any other areas along the that are warm and will accommodate an active person.
9 REPLIES 9

moonlightrunner
Explorer
Explorer
I liked Corpus Christi. We stayed on Flour Bluff. Rockport-Fulton/Port Aransas/Aransas Pass/Portland were far too snotty for me (if we were "filthy" street food vendors then surely they wouldn't want our "filthy" money). I think you are a bit late on making reservations for that area. And I do not do 55+ parks at all. It's been over 10 years and I still laugh about the 55+ park near the Base on Flour Bluff that said my 55+ husband could stay but my 22+ daughter and I (48+) could not stay. I would stay again on Flour Bluff at Shady Grove RV Park (we got lucky since we didn't have reservations). Close to the beaches. Close to the "Big City". Small country town atmosphere and walking distance to the public library from the park. I found it interesting that a city bus stopped at the park. I don't like deserts.

valhalla360
Nomad II
Nomad II
Arizona is OK for a week or two...after that it's just brown.

We like the Texas coast. A lot like Florida but without the masses of people.
Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV

azdryheat
Explorer
Explorer
I live in AZ so I'd rather winter in FL.
2013 Chevy 3500HD CC dually
2014 Voltage 3600 toy hauler
2019 RZR 1000XP TRE

chris3403
Explorer
Explorer