Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Forcing Garmin 890 to a different route?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Forcing Garmin 890 to a different route?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
philh

Belleville MI

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/14/21 08:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When I go to pick up 5th wheel, the fastest route will take me through a major metropolitan city that I want to avoid. Modified route will only cost me an estimated 30 minutes or so.

How do I specify specific roads to travel?

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 08/14/21 08:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Add a via point! At times you need to delete it when getting close.
This is only way I have acheived routing away from questionable areas.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/14/21 09:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Input a set of coordinates to drive to, an address, a city.. whatever.

Jim-Linda

Livingston, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 09/06/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/14/21 09:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Download Garmins Base Camp software to PC, create route and send to GPS. You can move the routing to anywhere you want. Added step but custom routes.

Second Chance

Wherever...

Senior Member

Joined: 07/23/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/14/21 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The newer Garmins also have a "Route Shaping" function. You go into a map of your route and touch places you want to transit. The GPS alters the route to go through those transit points. You can also do what I often do... let the GPS set the route it wants and just take the exit where you want to deviate. The GPS will freak out for a while, but will figure it out and recalculate the route. I drove, sailed, and flew for decades before GPSs and can still use a map when needed.

Rob


U.S. Army retired
2020 Solitude 310GK-R
MORryde IS, disc brakes, solar, DP windows
(Previously in a Reflection 337RLS)
2012 F350 CC DRW Lariat 6.7
Full-time since 8/2015


fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 08/14/21 09:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Jim-Linda wrote:

Download Garmins Base Camp software to PC, create route and send to GPS. You can move the routing to anywhere you want. Added step but custom routes.
This is what I would recommend. It is how I determine any route for the GPS. I never let the GPS determine the route, as it rarely goes where I want it to.

And Basecamp is free.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

rexlion

Broken Arrow OK

Senior Member

Joined: 04/01/2005

View Profile



Posted: 08/14/21 06:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I like Second Chance's advice. It's really easy to force a GPS onto a different route... just take the different route, and the GPS is forced to go along! [emoticon]


Mike G.
Liberty is meaningless where the right to utter one's thoughts and opinions has ceased to exist. That, of all rights, is the dread of tyrants. --Frederick Douglass
photo: Yosemite Valley view from Taft Point


Solo

NE Kansas/Central Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/15/21 06:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Second Chance wrote:

The newer Garmins also have a "Route Shaping" function. You go into a map of your route and touch places you want to transit. The GPS alters the route to go through those transit points.

Rob
Using Base Camp software might be your best solution but your 890 will allow "reshaping" as Second Chance describes. Much easier to do than setting waypoints with an older Garmin.


Solo
2011 Itasca Ellipse 42QD, 450 HP ISL Cummins
2012 Jeep JKU with SMI DUO Braking System
Our Travel Blog VolunteersWithAPurpose



Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Forcing Garmin 890 to a different route?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.