cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Who Tows a VAN 4 down ?

JoeH
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have been towing a pickup truck for many years.... put my motorcycle in the back and kayaks on a rack. I've been thinking about getting a van to tow four down to keep the bikes out of the weather.
If you are towing a van, what do you have ?
Joe
2013 Dutch Star 4338- all electric
Toad is 2015 F-150 with bikes,kayaks and Harley aboard
11 REPLIES 11

carringb
Explorer
Explorer
QuadVan builds new Transit with a flat-towable Transfer Case. Blue Ox has a baseplate available for it as well.
2000 Ford E450 V10 VAN! 450,000+ miles
2014 ORV really big trailer
2015 Ford Focus ST

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
JoeH wrote:
jdc1 wrote:
You might need a van with rear wheel drive....no soccer mom vans. Then you would have to put a Remco driveshaft disconnect on it.

That's what I was thinking--- getting an older RWD van and putting in a driveshaft disconnect. I was looking at Astro vans ( online only so far) , but the door opening/roof height isn't adequate unless I find a custom van with raised roof.

I didnโ€™t see this when I posted about Astros.

I bought a Chebbie Express V6 cargo for really reasonable intending to make it a short trip camper for a night or two plus haul a bike. Itโ€™s rear door was 2โ€ too short for my Tiger without removing windshield, mirrors etc etc.

If you go to the oemโ€™s โ€œBody Builderโ€ or โ€œUpfitterโ€ websites there will be precise dimensional information there for their van models.

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
You can convert an Astro/Safari AWD to a โ€œrealโ€ four wheel drive with transfer case neutral and low range with a kit and transfer case swap from the S10 pickup.

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
Driveline components on something like a late model econoline are the same as what's on an F150. Should be just like towing your F150 with the same considerations.