cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

ATI gasoline aux tank test pressure

thomas201
Explorer
Explorer
In the right kind of meeting I would say: "Hi, my name is Arnold and I am an engineer", but this isn't that type of meeting. Before I buy a new gas pickup, can someone tell me the test pressure on the side of an ATI gasoline auxiliary gasoline tank? By law it has to be there, so if someone could just look and let me know.

I have the question out to ATI, but no answer after a few days. The reason is that to prevent a check engine light, I will probably have to close up the vent on the tank and run at the vehicle fuel system relief pressure. Now I still need to find that number!
9 REPLIES 9

thomas201
Explorer
Explorer
One other tidbit to consider. It might not be necessary to close off the rollover vent on the deck tank, and make a closed system. Taking the weight of gasoline to be 6.3 pounds per gallon, you only need about 3 feet of head to equal 1 psi. Now, for the EVAP system the test pressure is 1 psi, so the operating pressure is lower. This explains why in the installation instructions, it is suggested that you may have to close up the system, not you must plug or plumb a return from the rollover valve. You still need a return line from the gas tank to the deck tank. ATI sells a fill line insert, that has two taps, one for fill the other for return. This would make a simple and safe system that does not set a check engine light. You are close on pressures, but I will try the safest/easy way first.

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Or to paraphrase this whole thread, it's a major pain in the @ss to direct feed gasoline from an aux tank into the fuel system....
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

JRscooby
Explorer II
Explorer II