Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 30 amp plug assistance needed
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 02:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi, I attempted to do a search, but had little luck. If this belongs elsewhere, let me know.

I'm in a 2650BH Passport ultra lite. It's going to the junkyard before long, but I need an emergency fix to get us through the heat. Yes, we're full timers.

AC needs major repair and I'm not investing in that now. I also need new circuit breakers as two were iffy anyway, but if I don't put much on them, they're fine.

My 30 amp cord is hardwired. The shore power box is just for the 30 amp. No additional outlets. I need to be able to bypass the rig system to plug in a portable AC. Portable pulls 10 amps, but the 15 amp breaker was already screwy. Need an alternative.

Is there a piggyback type of adapter that will permit me to plug in my rig on the shore power, but also give me an outlet for AC?

I hope I was clear enough. If not, ask away. And thanks in advance.

My parents passed earlier in the year and once their estate is settled, we can look for a new rig. We're stuck in the meantime.

way2roll

Wilmington NC

Senior Member

Joined: 10/05/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 02:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you plug into shore power your outlets in your RV should then have power. Maybe I am missing something.


2020 F350 STX 6.7L Turbo Diesel
2020 FR Cedar Creek Silverback 29rw

Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

way2roll wrote:

If you plug into shore power your outlets in your RV should then have power. Maybe I am missing something.


I have power to my outlets. The portable AC pulls 10 amps. The circuit breaker is rated for 15, but I think the previous owners overloaded it more than once as it flips easily.

I want to be able to plug in outside at the shore power post. That way, I'm not putting the portable on a crappy breaker. However, the post only has the one 30 amp outlet.

Think of it like putting a multi plug adapter on an outlet in your home, but with the 30 amp instead. That way I can plug in outside and bypass the rig system. I hope that made more sense.

Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 02:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I found this and wonder if it would work. I can roof a house, but I stink when it comes to electrical stuff.

[image]

IAMICHABOD

Sunny So Cal

Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/24/21 03:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That should work just fine


2006 TIOGA 26Q CHEVY 6.0 WORKHORSE VORTEC
Former El Monte RV Rental

Buying A Rental Class C


Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 03:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

IAMICHABOD wrote:

That should work just fine


Thank you. Finding the right words to describe my problem was an issue. I'm going to get one then. I'll have to order it, but I can put a rush on it.

Thank you. We still want our Majestic, but the pandemic has delayed things. We're trying to keep our unit going in the meantime.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 04:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'd suggest a dogbone type adapter. The one illustrated above may get pretty hot.

You could also make a "break out box" which would be useful for your next RV.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, soon to have SiO2 batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

Ed_Gee

Central Oregon coast

Senior Member

Joined: 01/14/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 04:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I suggest you use a 12 gage extension cord, at least, to run your portable AC.
P


Ed - on the Central Oregon coast
2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A
Scion xA toad

4x4van

California

Senior Member

Joined: 02/19/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 04:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This plus this will work.


We don't stop playing because we grow old...We grow old because we stop playing!

2004 Itasca Sunrise M-30W
Carson enclosed ATV Trailer
-'85 ATC250R (2), '85 TriZinger, '07 TRX400EX, '12 Husky TE310
Zieman Jetski Trailer
-'96 GTi, '96 Waveblaster II, '95 FX1

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 05:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This may be a better choice than the "puck" adapter. Use it with the "Y" adapter above.

https://www.amazon.ca/Valterra-A10-3015H........to+15+amp+adapter&qid=1629846147&sr=8-17

[image]

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.