Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 30 amp plug assistance needed
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 06:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you everyone!

A miracle occurred. Or it's Murphy's Law. I went outside to water plants and the repair guy showed up. I had waited 3 weeks. Poor guy is worked to death. Anyhow, he repaired my RV AC, so it runs now.

I'm still going to be looking into these fixes and links so that I can use it with the next rig, if need be. Better than being caught flat-footed like this time.

Thanks again...seriously

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 10:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Great that you can be a "cool mom"


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, soon to have SiO2 batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/21 05:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

In addtition to the adapter above (NOTE you are still limited to 30 amps by the park breaker) I've been known to use a 12 GA extension cord for a Portable appliance (or even a re-wired hard wired one) and the 20 amp park outlet.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


CharlesinGA

South of Atlanta, Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 01/12/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/26/21 01:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Pepi's_Mom wrote:

way2roll wrote:

If you plug into shore power your outlets in your RV should then have power. Maybe I am missing something.


I have power to my outlets. The portable AC pulls 10 amps. The circuit breaker is rated for 15, but I think the previous owners overloaded it more than once as it flips easily.


Buy a new breaker. They are standard household breakers. You probably have one made by Eaton or Cutler Hammer. These are a common breaker and one made by Siemens, Bryant, Murray, etc will fit and work. They should be $5 or so at a Home Depot or similar store.

Charles


'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO six speed std cab long bed Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. previously 2008 Thor/Dutchman Freedom Spirit 180. SOLD - 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome.

burningman

Seattle, WA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/26/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/21 04:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Isn’t it easier and cheaper and better to just replace the bad breaker?!!


2017 Northern Lite 10-2 EX CD SE
99 Ram 4x4 Dually Cummins
A whole lot more fuel, a whole lot more boost.
4.10 gears, Gear Vendors overdrive, exhaust brake
Built auto, triple disc, billet shafts.
Kelderman Air Ride, Helwig sway bar.


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.