Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 30 amp plug assistance needed
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Pepi's_Mom

Concord CA

New Member

Joined: 05/25/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 06:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you everyone!

A miracle occurred. Or it's Murphy's Law. I went outside to water plants and the repair guy showed up. I had waited 3 weeks. Poor guy is worked to death. Anyhow, he repaired my RV AC, so it runs now.

I'm still going to be looking into these fixes and links so that I can use it with the next rig, if need be. Better than being caught flat-footed like this time.

Thanks again...seriously

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/24/21 10:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Great that you can be a "cool mom"


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/25/21 05:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

In addtition to the adapter above (NOTE you are still limited to 30 amps by the park breaker) I've been known to use a 12 GA extension cord for a Portable appliance (or even a re-wired hard wired one) and the 20 amp park outlet.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


CharlesinGA

South of Atlanta, Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 01/12/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/26/21 01:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Pepi's_Mom wrote:

way2roll wrote:

If you plug into shore power your outlets in your RV should then have power. Maybe I am missing something.


I have power to my outlets. The portable AC pulls 10 amps. The circuit breaker is rated for 15, but I think the previous owners overloaded it more than once as it flips easily.


Buy a new breaker. They are standard household breakers. You probably have one made by Eaton or Cutler Hammer. These are a common breaker and one made by Siemens, Bryant, Murray, etc will fit and work. They should be $5 or so at a Home Depot or similar store.

Charles


'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO six speed std cab long bed Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. previously (both gone) 2008 Thor/Dutchman Freedom Spirit 180 & 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome.

burningman

Seattle, WA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/26/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/21 04:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Isn’t it easier and cheaper and better to just replace the bad breaker?!!


2017 Northern Lite 10-2 EX CD SE
99 Ram 4x4 Dually Cummins
A whole lot more fuel, a whole lot more boost.
4.10 gears, Gear Vendors overdrive, exhaust brake
Built auto, triple disc, billet shafts.
Kelderman Air Ride, Helwig sway bar.


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 amp plug assistance needed
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.