Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Towing: TPMS question?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Towing

Open Roads Forum  >  Towing

 > TPMS question?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
RAllison

Millersburg,ohio

Full Member

Joined: 05/04/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 09:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 38' Keystone Outback being pulled by a dbl cabbed 6' bed pickup. Is there a distance I need to be aware of for the signal to reach the receiver. Getting ready to buy a Tpms system but can't really find out if there is a max distance. Thanks

RoyF

Fayetteville Arkansas

Senior Member

Joined: 12/20/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 10:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I tow a 35' fifth-wheel with a long-bed crewcab. My TST sensors all reach the receiver. But before that I used a different brand (can't remember which one), and it needed a booster in the trailer.

bob213

Fresno, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 10:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A booster(repeater) is included with the TST system according to this:
Booster


You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand


ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 11:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bob213 wrote:

A booster(repeater) is included with the TST system according to this:
Booster


same with tire minder, booster mounts on the tongue,


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 12:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Most of the systems come with a repeater that you wire into 12V. On a trailer you could put it in the front storage compartment and this would be perfect to transmit it to the display. Most of the systems being sold now come with the repeater.


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


QCMan

Independent Republic of Horry

Senior Member

Joined: 12/19/2005

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 01:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

TST comes with a repeater. Don't know if I need it as the unit is not long but mounted it to the inside of my propane cover. I like that only the display goes to sleep if there is no movement. We bring the display into the trailer at night and it becomes our outdoor thermometer. Just touch the display unit and you instantly have readouts on the tires. If you can get short enough metal valve stems onto your rims I would suggest the pass thru sensors.


2020 Keystone Cougar 22RBS, Ram 1500, two Jacks and plenty of time to roam!
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. A.E.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/27/21 07:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

QCMan wrote:

TST comes with a repeater. Don't know if I need it as the unit is not long but mounted it to the inside of my propane cover. I like that only the display goes to sleep if there is no movement. We bring the display into the trailer at night and it becomes our outdoor thermometer. Just touch the display unit and you instantly have readouts on the tires. If you can get short enough metal valve stems onto your rims I would suggest the pass thru sensors.


On my 36ft class A I needed it just for the MH itself, the sensors aren’t strong enough to transmit to the unit. My rear axle is only 25ft from the mounting location of the display unit.

Blazing Zippers

North Idaho

Senior Member

Joined: 12/02/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/06/21 09:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I placed the booster on the battery box in the front of the trailer--connected to the left clearance light of the trailer. We always run with the lights on, so when the lights are on, the booster is on.
Taa Daah! Works great.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 09/07/21 07:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have the 507 TST system, and bought it before they started supplying the booster as part of the purchase. I pull a 38' 5th wheel toyhauler and it reads the sensors without an issue. But YMMV.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/21 09:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

FWIW, on our last trip I had my daughter wait at the dump station across the road. As I got in after dumping I noticed the TPMS display was showing the toad. The car was about 100ft away. So the repeater works great. Without the repeater I don’t get the rear tires of the MH which are closer than the repeater.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Towing

 > TPMS question?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Towing


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.