Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Batteries won't hold charge - need help

sgordon_lazydaz
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,

Newbie here so please excuse any ignorance. I have a 1992 class c Lazy Daze with a Chevrolet G30 cab.

I purchase her in March and drove every week/weekend with no problems for about 3-4 months. Went to go move her one day and both car battery and house battery were completely dead. Discovered I had left a small fan on for two days (oops) so it made sense. I replaced both batteries and made sure nothing else had been left on. Drove around for a couple days, then- bam - wouldn't start again. Both batteries dead- this time nothing was left on and nothing was draining power. Had a mechanic come out and alternator was reading as dead so I had the alternator replaced and once again replaced both batteries- started up no problem. Next day I drove her for about 3 hours, still no problems. Day after that, both batteries dead again. After doing some research I discovered the purpose of the isolator. So, my question to you all is- do we think if I replace the isolator (seems easy enough to replace myself) that this will solve the problem? Or do we think it's necessary to have it towed to an RV mechanic? I'm in a bit of a tight spot as I'm in the process of moving into her full time and leaving a failing relationship so will take any help I can get to have this fixed asap.

I've gone ahead and ordered a new isolator (same as the current one installed - diode) that will arrive tomorrow. I will try and replace my car battery though Autozone warranty for the 4th?? time but not sure if they will give me another within the warranty.

Please help!
24 REPLIES 24

sgordon_lazydaz
Explorer
Explorer