Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Snowbirds: "Simply Connect" CDN cell provider
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Snowbirds

Open Roads Forum  >  Snowbirds

 > "Simply Connect" CDN cell provider

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
mcewena

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 08:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Any experiences here?

https://www.simplyconnect.ca/

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 09:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

It doesn't appear to be much of a bargain from a data point of view.

It operates on the Rogers network.

Here is a list of all the Simply plans:

https://www.whistleout.ca/CellPhones/Carriers/Simply-Connect


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

mcewena

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 09:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pianotuna wrote:

Hi,

It doesn't appear to be much of a bargain from a data point of view.

It operates on the Rogers network.


Do you mean in terms of domestic CDN data or roaming? The latter I would tend to agree, I haven't found anything else that would give me 2 lines and "some" data for much under $100 though. Kodo was close but it was a "sign up now" offer. (I can't get those sweetheart SK deals).

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 09:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

My only data access is via cell phones. I am on Sasktel and Bell. Both have unlimited data which throttles. Both roam to USA and Bell has data there. I can add USA data to the Sasktel. Not much point in that this year, however.

mcewena

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 11:18am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yeah, I should have said: I wasn't thinking of this primarily for US travel but as a replacement of my current Telus voice/text only plan. It's just this is the only forum I belong to with the right demographic [emoticon] (CDNs over 50).

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 12:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mcewena,

Yes, the competition with Sasktel is pretty fierce.

imo we pay far too much for our cell phone service.

Telus has unlimited data--but there is a gottcha. They don't have unlimited tethering. I can't imagine watching netflix on a cell phone screen.

almcc

Ontario, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/10/21 05:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You may want to consider using a US service (like AT&T) in Canada as well as the US, AT&T pairs with Rogers in Canada and they have good data quantities with a one month roll over for unused data.





moisheh

North America

Senior Member

Joined: 05/04/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/10/21 07:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Att will not allow you to use your phone more in Canada than in the USA.

almcc

Ontario, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/10/21 08:25am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

moisheh wrote:

Att will not allow you to use your phone more in Canada than in the USA.


Are you referring to time, data usage or phone usage in Canada? I can tell you that my experience (multi year) is different. I'm not a heavy data user but on some months I have used my data allotment. Anyways, Canadians can't (legally) spend more time in the US than Canada unless risking border patrol issues or having their world wide income (including Canada) being taxed by the IRS.

As a comment to the OP, Simply Connect used to be Sears Connect before Sears departed the scene. They are a Rogers company under another name, their rates are a bit better than Rogers for Canadian service, I use them for an emergency phone. Can't comment on what they provide for the US.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/10/21 11:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had T-Mobile. Two of the four devices were in USA. After 90 days T-Mobile helped me unlock the phones in Canada and closed the account for the devices.

The two in USA continued.

I suppose a work around would have been to mail sim cards back and forth.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Snowbirds

 > "Simply Connect" CDN cell provider
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Snowbirds


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.